Tom Lorello, Executive DirectorTom Lorello, LICSW, MSW

Executive Director

Tom began his work with the homeless as a mental health clinician in the 1980s and later advanced to leadership roles within agencies focused on helping homeless and low-income individuals and families. As a widely regarded expert in the field, Tom speaks both locally and nationally on innovative approaches to ending homelessness. He joined Heading Home in 2004, and under his leadership the agency successfully shifted its focus from providing emergency services to developing permanent, supportive housing. Other accomplishments:

  • Quadrupled the size of the organization both in operational budget and staff
  • Created more than 350 units of housing
  • Established the Pathways to Permanent Housing (PaSS) program — a highly supported pathway out of homelessness and public dependency operating on the principle of co-investment
  • Received the Massachusetts Housing and Shelter Alliance’s “Cornerstone Award,” 2013

tlorello@headinghomeinc.org / 617.864.8140 x101

Lisa Schorr Kaplan

Chief Operating Officer

Lisa brings more than 20 years of experience in nonprofit management and performance measurement to her position at Heading Home. Most recently, she spent five years as the Director of Impact Assessment at the Bridgespan Group, a nonprofit advisor and resource for mission-driven organizations and philanthropists. Her extensive nonprofit experience also includes leadership positions at Pine Street Inn, City Year, and Project HEALTH (now Health Leads). Lisa received her MBA from Harvard Business School. As COO of Heading Home, Lisa oversees all internal operations, ensuring the implementation of our vision and goals throughout the organization.

lkaplan@headinghomeinc.org /617.864.8140 x131

Mayté Antelo-Ovando

Education and Consultation Director

With a Master’s in Education Policy and Management from the Harvard Graduate School of Education, Mayté brings expertise in non-profit organizations, educational reform, and informal learning to her position. She also has more than 5 years of experience that includes school psychology and international and community-based nonprofit organizations. Mayté is responsible for providing professional development and clinical consultation to ensure that clients are receiving necessary supports to maintain housing and become self-sufficient.

mantelo-ovando@headinghomeinc.org / 617.864.8140 x114

Mark Evans

Director of Individual Services

Mark joined Heading Home in 2015, bringing more than two decades of expertise in the behavior health and human services fields. His recent accomplishments range from training and advising MSW candidates at Boston College to managing a large budget and staff, and all ambulatory services, at a Boston-area outpatient clinic. A skilled leader and clinician, Mark holds an MSW degree, an LICSW license, and a certificate in nonprofit management and leadership from Boston University. As Heading Home’s director of individual services, Mark manages a staff of 40 and is responsible for administration of programs serving than 400 homeless and formerly homeless individuals annually.

mevans@headinghomeinc.org / 617.864.8140 x132

Emily Smaldon

Development Director

As development director, Emily leads Heading Home’s efforts in annual giving, special events, major gifts, corporate partnerships and foundation grants. She brings to the position strong skills in fundraising, marketing and relationship management. Prior to joining Heading Home in 2010, Emily was part of the business development team for ADD Inc, a local architectural firm.

esmaldon@headinghomeinc.org / 617.864.8140 x107

Jon & Emily WeintraubJonathan Weintraub, President




Board Members
  • Sherry Davis, Treasurer
  • Donna Quirk, Clerk
  • Robert Boyle
  • William Creelman, Emeritus
  • Stephen Davis
  • Reesa Fischer
  • Mary Fowler
  • Elliot Gould
  • Joe Hanley
  • Andrew Hoar
  • Nicholas Iselin, Emeritus
  • Tito Jackson
  • Brian Kavoogian
  • Emmett Lyne
  • Andrew Maher
  • Anne Margulies, Emeritus
  • Marc Margulies, Emeritus
  • Kevin McCarthy
  • Patrick McMahon
  • Bill Musto
  • Daniel Omstead, Emeritus
  • Peter Sanborn, Emeritus
  • Joshua Solomon
  • Nancy Solomon
  • Carolyn Spicer
  • David Weinberg
  • Michele Whitham, Emeritus
  • Gilbert Winn
The Heading Home Outreach Council is a select group of young professionals whose mission is to further engage the community with our organization by way of volunteerism and education around the issues of homelessness.

  • Amy Garanin, Co-Chair
  • Alison Powers, Co-Chair
  • Clayton Wentworth, Co-Chair
  • Scott Carpenter
  • Travis D’Amato
  • Katy Dugan
  • Keara Gaffey
  • Derrick Goodwin
  • Garrett Hatton
  • John Hurley
  • Vadim Karamov
  • Tucker Kelton
  • Andrew Klopfer
  • Chris LaFrance
  • Dan McGrath
  • Patrick Mulvihill
  • Michael Murphy
  • Bridget Probst
  • Heather Richter
  • Ariel Sasso
  • Erin Sloane
  • Patrick Sousa
  • Eric Speed
  • Cate Suter
  • Ben Sutton
  • Laura Teehan
  • Lauren Vecchione
  • Tyler Walsh
  • Matthew Wells
  • Jess Williams
  • Diana Wood